Six Powerful Steps to Effective Goal Setting

Naomi Irons
7 min readFeb 19, 2019

“A person should set his goals as early as he can and devote all his energy and talent to getting there. With enough effort, he may achieve it. Or he may find something that is even more rewarding. But in the end, no matter what the outcome, he will know he has been alive.”

- Walt Disney

What excites me about goal setting is that it’s a great tool to help you prioritize things. When I start to set goals I think about exactly that, priorities. I ask myself what am I passionate about and what’s really important to me? I find that goals are key in helping you identify what your actual priorities are, as well as how to set healthy boundaries and build margin into your life. Goals help you live intentionally, with purpose and with passion. Goal help us stay organized, on track and give us check in points as well as direction.

I like to look at the big picture and take a look at everything I have going on. I came to the realization that for me goals help me identify the things that are most important to me. I came to a point where I felt the freedom to actually cut things out. I was saying yes to too many things and feeling burnt out all the time. So instead of using goals as some sort of to do list, I use goals to help me create action steps in work, blogging and in my personal life. Now I can do more of what matters most…

--

--

Naomi Irons

Do It Yourself projects enthusiast. Celebrating creativity everyday. I’ve been killing it in the organization arena for over 10 years.